How to disable Secure Release for a specific user or Department

  1. Home
  2. Knowledge Base
  3. How-to Guides
  4. User Management
  5. How to disable Secure Release for a specific user or Department

How to disable Secure Release for a specific user or Department

With the industry moving toward fewer higher volume printers it is now common that users are spatially separated from their printers. This leads to confidentiality issues, as another user could collect or read their documents before they arrive at the printer. Another problem is users’ documents often get mixed up in the output tray because higher volume printers support many users who print simultaneously. Not to mention the amount of waste generated by users forgetting to collect their documents or reprinting them because they couldn’t find them in the output tray.

The solution to the above is Secure Document Release. Documents will only be printed once the user has authenticated at the printer. However, there may be cases where Secure Release must be disabled for a specific user:

  • The user prints a high volume of documents which are unlikely to get mixed up with other users’ documents.
  • Perhaps the user is seated right next to the printer.

In the cases above, we can disable Secure Release for this specific user. The following must be noted:

  • Once disabled, their jobs will be printed immediately for all printers (not necessarily the printer they’re seated next to).
  • Follow me printing will not be available to this user. Their jobs will always be printed by the printer to which they were sent.

Disable Secure Release for a specific user or users

  • Open Resource Manager.
  • Navigate User Management >Users.
  • Double click on a user (or multi-select more than one user and click the Edit button).
  • Click the Auth & Importing tab.
  • Tick the checkbox in the Secure Document Release Override frame.
  • Click OK.

Disable Secure Release for new users added to a Department(s)

  • Open Resource Manager.
  • Navigate User Management >Departments.
  • Double click the department that requires the setting (or multi-select more than one department and click the Edit button).
  • Click the Auth & Importing tab.
  • Tick the checkbox in the Secure Document Release Override frame.
  • If you would like to apply this setting to all current members of the department, click the Go button at the bottom of the Auth & Importing tab.
  • Click OK.

Refresh PDServers and PDAgents

Now that the Secure Release Override setting has been changed, the PDAgents will see the new settings the next time they refresh from the database. By default, this happens every 10 minutes. To force a refresh immediately follow these steps:

  • On the left, click the PD Agents node.
  • On the right, highlight all the servers. Right click and choose Refresh.

Document revision date: 2018/10/12

Software version: 2.2.49.3

 

 

Article Attachments

Related Articles