How to specify access to individual accounts for a user or Department

  1. Home
  2. Knowledge Base
  3. How-to Guides
  4. User Management
  5. How to specify access to individual accounts for a user or Department

How to specify access to individual accounts for a user or Department

If a user is configured to require an Account Code for transactions, they will be able to bill prints/copies/scans/faxes/phone calls to third party accounts (or indeed other users’ accounts if their access rights allow it). By default users have access to all accounts apart from user or Department accounts. However, we can specify access to specific accounts in order to stop certain users from billing accounts to which they shouldn’t have access.

There are two ways this can be done. It can be done for each specific user record, or it can be done on the department. When it is done on the department it does not immediately apply to all users within the department. It becomes a ‘new user default’ for the department. New users added to the department will inherit the account access setting. However, you will always be able to apply the setting to all current members of the department if you like.

Set the individual account access for specific users

  • Open Resource Manager.
  • Navigate User Management > Users.
  • Double click on a user (or multi-select more than one user and click the Edit button).
  • Click the Account Access tab.
  • In the Account Access frame, choose the option Access to individual Accounts.
  • Tick the relevant accounts to which the user will be able to bill transactions.
  • Click OK.

Set the account access for a Department

  • Open Resource Manager.
  • Navigate User Management > Department.
  • Double click the department that requires the setting (or multi-select more than one department and click the Edit button).
  • Click the Account Defaults tab.
  • In the Access to Account Codes frame, choose the option Access to individual Accounts.
  • Tick the relevant accounts to which the department will be able to bill transactions.
  • If you would like to apply this setting to all current members of the department, click the Go button at the bottom of the Account Defaults tab.
  • Click OK.

Refresh PDServers and PDAgents

Now that the popup setting has been changed, the PDServers and PDAgents will see the new settings the next time they refresh from the database. By default, this happens every 10 minutes. To force a refresh immediately follow these steps:

  • On the left, click the PD Servers node.
  • On the right, highlight all the servers. Right click and choose Refresh.
  • Now click the PD Agents node.
  • On the right, highlight all the servers. Right click and choose Refresh.

Document revision date: 2018/10/12

Software version: 2.2.49.3

Article Attachments

Related Articles